Blog‎ > ‎

NetSciCom 2014

posted Nov 14, 2013, 4:58 AM by Katayoun Farrahi

Sixth IEEE International Workshop on Network Science for Communication Networks (NetSciCom) in conjunction with IEEE Infocom 2014 

Network science is a newly emerging discipline with applications in a variety of domains, such as 
communication networks, power grid networks, transportation networks, social networks, 
biological networks, and economics. Designing complex communication networks of the future 
needs a deep understanding of the interplay between the physical, communication, and social 
networks involved. An understanding of such interdependency can only be achieved by closer 
interaction between network scientists, communication network designers, and social and 
behavioral scientists. The goal of this workshop is to a provide a forum where this diverse group 
of researchers can meet and exchange ideas that will lead to deeper insights into the design of 
future robust, efficient, and complex communication networks. 
Topics of Interest: 
The topics of this workshop lie at the intersection of network science and communication network 
design, including topology design and analysis, traffic modeling, traffic routing, social media 
analysis, blogs and friendship networks, bio-inspired networks, Internet-scale measurement and 
analysis of online communities, social network analysis with mobile phone data, interdependency 
between power grid, communication, and transportation networks. 
Important dates: 
Paper submission due Sunday, December 15th, 2013 - 11:59 PM EDT 
Review due Friday, January 24th, 2014 - 11:59 PM EST 
Notification of Acceptance Friday, February 7th, 2014 - 11:59 PM EST 
Camera Ready Friday, February 28th, 2014 - 11:59 PM EST 
Program Committee Chairs 
• Sergey Gorinsky, Institute IMDEA Networks, Madrid, Spain. 
• Nishanth Sastry, King's College London, UK. 
• Thrasyvoulos Spyropoulos, Institut Eurécom, Sophia-Antipolis, France. 
Program Committee Members 
• Jörn Altmann, Seoul National University, Korea. 
• Konstantin Avratchenkov, INRIA, France. 
• Amotz Bar-Noy, Brooklyn College & Graduate Center, CUNY, USA. • Marian Boguna, University of Barcelona, Spain.
• Richard Clegg, University College London, UK.
• Antonio Fernández Anta, Institute IMDEA Networks, Spain. 
• Eric Fleury, ENS Lyon / INRIA, France. 
• Niloy Ganguly, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India. 
• András Gulyás, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary. 
• Aric Hagberg, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA. 
• Pan Hui, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong. 
• Stratis Ioannidis, Technicolor, Palo Alto, USA. 
• Matthieu Latapy, LIP6 - CNRS and UPMC, France. 
• Alberto Leon-Garcia, University of Toronto, Canada. 
• Athen Ma, Queen Mary University of London, UK. 
• Priya Mahadevan, Palo Alto Research Center (PARC), USA. 
• D. Manjunath, IIT Bombay, India. 
• Raul Mondragon, Queen Mary University of London, UK. 
• Mirco Musolesi, University of Birmingham, UK. 
• Giovanni Neglia, INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France. 
• Andrea Passarella, IIT-CNR, Italy. 
• Kavé Salamatian, LISTIC PolyTech, University of Savoy, France. 
• Mostafa Salehi, University of Tehran, Iran. 
• Angel (Anxo) Sánchez, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain. 
• Christian Scheideler, University of Paderborn, Germany. 
• Ioannis Stavrakakis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece. 
• Leandros Tassiulas, University of Thessaly, Greece. 
• Don Towsley, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, USA. • Piet Van Mieghem, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands.
• Gábor Vattay, Eotvos University, Hungary.
• Chuan Wu, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong. 
Publicity Chair 
• Pavlos Sermpezis, Institut Eurécom, Sophia-Antipolis, France. 
Web Chair 
• Dmytro Karamshuk, King's College London, UK. 
Vice General Chairs 
• Ram Ramanathan, Raytheon BBN Technologies, USA. 
• Arun Sen, Arizona State University, USA. 
General Chair 
• Cynthia A. Phillips, Sandia National Laboratories, USA. 
Steering Committee 
• Andrea Richa, Chair, Arizona State University, USA. 
• Katia Obraczka, Member, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA. 
• Guoliang Xue, Member, Arizona State University, USA. 
• Arun Sen, Member, Arizona State University, USA.